Maximum Fighting Championship fans vote Birchak vs Jones title fight for main event at MFC 38

September 23, 2013

Print



Maximum Fighting Championship fans vote Birchak vs Jones title fight for main event at MFC 38



For the first time ever, the Maximum Fighting Championship let the fans decide the main event of an upcoming show.

The ‘PunchTheVote’ campaign has wrapped up and the fans voted for the main event they most wanted to see get top billing. The results have been tabulated and MFC 38: Behind Enemy Lines will truly be a night of firsts.

MFC 38 is the first time the Maximum Fighting Championship boasts three title fights on the same night. And fittingly, the very first MFC bantamweight champion will be crowned in the night’s true main event.

Though it came down to the wire in fan voting cast via Twitter and Facebook, the MFC bantamweight title fight pitting Anthony Birchak against Tito “Ronin” Jones has the honor of being the main event for MFC 38.

The bantamweight matchup narrowly slipped past the middleweight title fight featuring “Smilen” Sam Alvey against Jason “The Mover” South in the voting. The heavyweight tilt with Smealinho “The Prince” Rama facing Anthony “Freight Train” Hamilton will be the first of the three title fights on Friday, October 4 from the Shaw Conference Centre in Edmonton, Alberta, and airing live on AXS TV Fights.

“All three of these title fights are deserving of main-event status, so we wanted to hear what the fans had to say, and they decided which of the three they felt belonged with top billing,” said Scott Zerr, Director of Media & Fighter Relations for the Maximum Fighting Championship.

Along with the three title fights, the MFC 38 lineup features a critical matchup in the lightweight division as Jonatas “Peixe Frito” Novaes enters a hotly anticipated rematch with Kurt “The Hurt” Southern – the winner being guaranteed a shot at the MFC lightweight title in 2014.

Also on the main card for MFC 38 is a bout pitting hot prospect Teddy “The Bear” Ash against durable veteran Jared “The Yeti” McComb, plus a lightweight tussle with Aaron “Gorilla” Gallant taking on Matt Jelly.

The MFC 38 broadcast on AXS TV Fights begins at 10 p.m. ET/8 p.m. MT/7 p.m. PT, and the MFC 38 prelims air live on the Maximum Fighting Championship’s Facebook page beginning at 8:15 p.m. ET/6:15 p.m. MT/5:15 p.m. PT.

Tickets for MFC 38: Behind Enemy Lines are available at www.ticketmaster.ca and by calling the MFC Ticket Hotline at (780) 504-2024.

Share

News

Recent Stories

About Us

MMACanada.net is Canada's first & most-popular MMA website for mixed martial arts news and information from a Canadian perspective. Event coverage and fighter profiles include not only Canadian but International topics and personalities. Read more..

Contact Us

Got a news tip? Inquiry?
Want to advertise on our site?
Click here to send in your comments

News Archives

Follow Us